‘Mireille’s favorite Treacle Tart’

IMG_0458

There is a myth amongst French women that English women cannot cook – or we spend our time making (and eating) jelly, and cheese with jam! (I jest not, I cannot count the number of times that a French person has told me that they do not like English food, and when I have asked what they do not like – ‘jelly’ is always top of the list!)

Now I never liked jelly even as a child, when it used to be forced upon me at birthdays parties, but I do like tarts, and I know that some of you tried and enjoyed my French inspired ‘Frangipan tarte aux poires et chocolat’ (and there is ‘tarte au citron’ and ‘tarte au chocolat’ in the pipeline) But this is a very English tart – something again that my Liverpool granny used to make.

In fact this tart was one of the first things that began to put the records straight.

I served it to my very good French friend, Mireille, and she loved it and begged me to make it again. It is extremely simple, and relatively cheap to make, and is equally good warm or col (not too hot or you could burn your mouth on the syrup)

But as this is ‘Franglais’ cooking, I have adapted the recipe slightly to suit French tastes as the original British Treacle Tart was a little too heavy for their delicate palates, so I have incorporated the whisked egg white that was left over from making the ‘rich short crust pastry’ to give it a lighter texture.

I think that it is better this way, but maybe I am becoming ‘Franglaise’ let me know what you think…

I serve this with a good dollop of crème fraiche, but if you want to be really British then you could serve with a little custard or ice cream……………

IMG_0439

Ingredients

Pastry (seeFrangipan Tarte aux Poires et chocolat’ recipe for how to make the perfect pastry)

1 cup/350g Lyles Golden Syrup (available in most Parisian supermarkets)

¼ cup/60ml double cream/crème épaisse

1 cup/120g fresh breadcrumbs/miettes de pain

The zest of 1 large lemon

2 tablespoons (3 cuillers de soupe) of lemon juice

1 lightly whisked (fouet) egg white

Method

Line a 12”/30cm tart dish with the pastry

Mix the cream with the syrup, add the lemon juice, then stir in the breadcrumbs

Whisk the egg white in a clean bowl with a hand whisk and fold into the mixture.

Pour evenly into the pastry

Bake in a preheated oven at 190/gas mark 6 for 35 minutes

Et Voila! What could be simpler – hmm it smells so good………..

Lindy’s top tip – If you stand the can of syrup in a basin of hot water for a couple of minutes, it is much easier to pour from the can…………

 

Leave a Reply

