Versatile Blogger Award

wpid-versatile-blogger.jpgFirstly thank you very much ‘Natascha’s Palace’ aka ‘Madrid Chick’ (nataschaspalace.wordpress.com) for nominating me. Like me she is an Anglo Saxon ex-pat living in a Latin world and infusing a Mediterranean flavour into her cooking – yum!

I am very new to this, so hope I get this right………..

I have had such a wonderful experience so far; feeling the thrill of being read in 14 countries (and counting!) and meeting such a great gang of talented, creative, inspiring and supportive fellow bloggers – this has opened up a whole new world that I had no idea existed, as I only begun doing this to satisfy demands from family and friends on both sides of the channel to publish my recipes……..

Although I am not producing great literature, I am writing again (I’d fallen off the wagon a while back…..) and have begun a new found pastime – photography – again, I am not producing great photos (yet) but at least I now Know what ‘depth of field is’!

Seven facts about me (Apart from obvious love of cooking and eating!)

1) I love reading and feel totally lost without a book. My all time favourite is ‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily Bronte, and my favourite modern author is ‘Tan Twan Eng’ author of ‘The Garden of Evening Mists’ and ‘The gift of Rain’ I am impatiently awaiting his next book 

2) I am a lapsed writer, and have had many short stories published in National magazines in the past and have won many short story competitions.  

3) I love travel – especially exploring cities and looking around interesting buildings and churches and museums. I love visiting the many chateaux and gardens around Paris.

vaux le v

Chateau ‘Vaux le Vicomte’ near Paris the chateau that inspired Versailles

4) I love the theatre, especially musical theatre, and this is one of the things that I miss most about the UK. I go every time I am over there, and saw ‘Dirty Dancing’ last weekend while I was back in Liverpool and took a French friend to see ‘Phantom of the Opera’ and ‘Wicked’ in London last month 

5) I love the sea and am descended from a long line of pirates (truly!) one of whom is documented having captured a number of French ships, my partner said to me when we first met, that my ancestors captured French ships and I had captured a French heart! I always lived in site of the sea, so moving to Paris was difficult for me, but now I live on the banks of the lovely river Marne, and have a limited view of it from my kitchen and bedroom window. 

IMG_0980

River Marne near my home

6) Like Natascha, I have a little friend to help in the kitchen (she has Flaubert the bear – I have Willow the cat!)  

IMG_0543

7) My dream is to travel from Paris to Venice on the Orient Express (all dressed up like someone from an Agatha Christie novel)

So there you are – now for my nominations. As I move in a limited circle at the moment, some of you have probably already been nominated before – being SO talented, I am sure that you have, so not sure how that works…….

My nominees are:-

thenovicegardenerwordpress.com – This was the very first blog that I started to follow and Angie has given me a lot of encouragement – thank you – This is another ‘accidental’ blog (as mine) but it is bursting at the seams with sumptuous photography. Another food blog with a close link to gardening, sheer delight!

Cookingwithawallflower.com – Los of recipe and craft ideas and super tips on blogging

Beccaevermore.wordpress.com – Friendly intimate writing style that makes you feel like you are talking with a friend when you read Becca’s blog – great recipes, with great photos too….

www.whattohavefordinnertonight.com – Lovely simple no fuss food and some informative restaurant reviews too, gorgeous easy on the eye blog.

Goan imports www.goanwiki.com AKA Nandini – Just gorgeous, being a curry fanatic, I want to make everything on this site!

Bades Escapes www.worldninjas.com – really cool travel blog from a pair of adventurers who take amazing photos!

Edge of humanity Magazine at www.edgeofhumanity.com – These guys just pull everything that interests me together in one place, so diverse and inspirational with superb black and white photography.

www.springtomorrow.com – A lovely ‘Asian fusion’ blog from Geri in Singapore – who is enticing me to go over there………and when you see her food, you will want to got too!

www.happinessandhazelnuts.com – I love the embracing of nature in this blog, combining the arts of gardening and cooking – and even including some edible flowers!

Kitchenspell.wordpress.com – Lovely ‘wholesome’ cooking with some wonderful flavour combinations of jams and preserves amongst many other goodies.

Lauracooperphotoblog.wordpress.com – I discovered this talented lady by accident and I am sure glad that I did – she has set the standard in photography that I would love to attain someday.

Totallyinspiredpc.wordpress.com – I don’t know how I missed this blog, but only found it today while looking for the above address – wonderful inspirational blog – I particularly like the section on ‘inspirational women’

stopfood.me – I love everything on this newly discovered site, some gorgeous recipes with pictures to match and lots of ‘cheats’ tips – a girl after my own heart!

I’m sorry that I have only posted 13 and not the required 15, but I’m quite selective by nature so am still building up the blogs that I am following……….

4 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

