Dragon’s Loyalty Award

wpid-dragonaward1[1]

This has to be coolest looking award, and many thanks to my sister blogger Natascha @ ‘Natascha’s Palace for nominating me.
As she said on her post – please DO NOT feel obliged to fulfil the challenge if I nominate you – it is just that I like what you do and want to share it. (I have repeated 3 nominations from the ‘Versatile Blogger Award’ just because I love what you do, but do not expect you to respond unless of course you want to……..) But do check out Natascha’s blog – if you like mine, then you will love hers.

THE RULES TO ACCEPT THE AWARD:

DISPLAY THE AWARD CERTIFICATE ON YOUR WEBSITE

ANNOUNCE YOUR WIN WITH A POST AND LINK TO WHOEVER PRESENTED YOUR AWARD

PRESENT 15 AWARDS TO DESERVING BLOGGERS

DROP THEM A COMMENT TO TIP THEM OFF AFTER YOU’VE LINKED THEM IN THE POST

POST 7 INTERESTING THINGS ABOUT YOURSELF.

The thing that I find most difficult about these awards is trying to find 7 interesting things about myself….and as I do not want to repeat myself, having to find 7 new things…..

One entirely new fact about me is that I have VERY recently become interested  in photography (since starting blogging 5 months ago when I saw how amateurish my photographs were compared to everyone else’s!)
I still have a lot to learn, but am pleased with my progress so far and am enjoying photographing things that would never have entered my head before, including black and white photography

boat before bridge IMGP0464 (5)

Second fact – I mentioned last time that I was a lapsed writer and have had short stories published in various magazines, but I also self published a teenage fantasy novella about 10 years ago and I received a royalty cheque for 32P this month – so obviously somebody has just bought a copy!

268654_2135155252222_5311122_n[1]

Number three – who would be my ideal guest at a dinner party?
Answer, Alexandre Dumas.
Why?
Because he was larger than life (literally) just like one of his characters (I imagine that he modelled the Musketeer Pathos on himself)
He was a great wit and intelligence, and a great ‘ladies man’. But mainly because he was one of the first ‘bloggers’ publishing his stories in instalments in his own journal, and he was also a ‘foodie’ and the last book that he wrote was actually a cookery book (see my blog post on ‘Grated carrot salad and Chateau de Monte Christo)

IMGP0262

Gorgeous Chateau de Monté Christo

Hmm this is difficult, I am really not very interesting – Ok, fact number four. My English teacher at school was the renowned author and play-write, Willy Russell and he used to call me the poet of the school, not a bad accolade huh.

thKHCTBY06

Shirley Valentine, a one woman play by Willy Russell immortalised in film

Fact number five, I first came to Paris when I was seventeen and fell in love with the city and made up my mind to live there one day – it took me  30 years, but here I am!

1014179_10151636660519457_1575786235_n[2]

Me discussing art at ‘Place du Tertre’ I loved this guys paintings,

Number six, it is no secret that, I LOVE food and cooking, but just to prove that I am not a domestic Goddess and do get it wrong from time to time – here is my ‘atomic’ bread! I had to prop the lid of the bread machine open with wine corks as it had grown far too big to be contained – tasted great though (to give you an idea of perspective, normally a loaf ends at the line where this one ‘takes-off’!)

IMGP0942

And finally, fact number seven. I love donkeys, and in fact my daughter adopted a donkey called Billy-O from a donkey sanctuary in Yorkshire for my birthday present this year. I have numerous photos of me stroking donkeys (mainly in various parts of Greece) and could create a donkey blog….I wonder if it would take off……..hmmmmm

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Me and a friend at Santorini

So there you have it – now for my nominations – thank you all for enriching my life in one way or another. And thank you also to all my lovely friends, readers and followers.:-

Rachelmankowitz.wordpress.com – Although I am not a ‘doggy’ person, I love Rachel’s ‘dog’s eye view’ of the world seen through the eyes of her two adorable pooches. She also has some very astute observations to say for herself. I am SO glad she stopped by my blog and found me.

Thegreyeye.wordpress.com (Life as we see it) – I know that you will not reciprocate, as you have said so before, but I love your photos and insights into other cultures, and enjoy our exchanges, so this is just to acknowledge how interesting your blog is.

Thebelleabroad.wordpress.com – well what can I say, I feel like I have met myself 30 years ago – I love reading Belle’s adventures and seeing her wonderful quirky photos, you are a breath of fresh air.

klregister.wordpress.com (the ninth life) – K.L. my life is richer with you in it – beautiful words of wisdom from a wise and beautiful blog sister, check her out you won’t be sorry.

thegingerbreadmummy.wordpress.com (Fourpeskyhobbits) – an amusing sometimes bitter/sweet look on life by a courageous mum of four who is home schooling her children and trying not to lose herself along the way.

karinateuma,wordpress.com (Food is Life) – Karina cooks my kind of food and has the same attitude to wasting food as I do, using every scrap in n inventive way.

lovingleaisuretime.wordpress.com (Frances 42015) – I have only just come across this gorgeous blog when she stopped by mine and liked a post – so glad that you did, I really look forward to getting to know you better, lovely life philosophy and food.

averagesouthafrican.wordpress.com – again a blog which is new to me, with fab photography and really different recipes, giving an insight to a completely different culture. Very professional blog – I have a long way to go……..

The next four nominees, I nominated last time, but I love them so much, I just had to give them another mention:-

Lauracooperphotoblog.wordpress.com –as previously stated, Laura has set the standard in photography that I would love to attain someday. check her out

Goan imports www.goanwiki.com AKA Nandini – Just gorgeous, being a curry fanatic, I want to make everything on this site!

stopfood.me – I love everything on this newly discovered site, some gorgeous recipes with pictures to match and lots of ‘cheats’ tips – a girl after my own heart!

www.happinessandhazelnuts.com – When I read michelle’s writing and see her lovely photos, I am in another world. You know how much I love what you do…..

For those of you who are counting,  that only makes 12, but they are 12 that I am genuinely following with envy and interest.

A bientot
Lindy

6 thoughts on “Dragon’s Loyalty Award

  1. frances42015 says:

    Thank you so much for my nomination and lovely comments about my blog. I am new to blogging and this encouraged me to keep going. This award system is new to me too, what do I do next? I can see it is a great way to meet other bloggers and find inspiration!
    Thanks 😊

    • lindaravello says:

      Ooops sorry – I was in such a rush to post that I forgot to include the rules………I will paste them now and ‘reblog’ the post – thanks for alerting me.
      Yes it is a lovely way to get introduced to new blogs/bloggers and to promote your own – I know that it is difficult when you begin to have 15 blogs to recommend and in fact I have only being blogging six months and this is my second nomination, so I have not made the head count each time, but I do not compromise by putting names out there unless I genuinely have an interest in them just to make up the numbers. Obviously you cannot nominate me, but you can say something about my blog being cooker/culture Paris travel etc and whatever you like or find inspiring in it. Personally I find the facts about me the hardest – if you want to see what I did first time round, look at my post for ‘Versatile blogger award’ it may help you and you will learn a few more facts about me – good luck x

  2. happinessandhazelnuts says:

    Thank you so much Lindy for nominating me! Your are so sweet! I apologise I have not commented sooner, this week has been crazy busy! I want to read through your own post at the weekend so I can take it in:-) I look forward to posting next week:-) xx

Leave a Reply

