RADISH STARTER

IMGP1824 (2)

Radish, a real ‘Taste of Two Cities’

This is a real example of the difference between English and French ways of eating. In past posts, I have spoken about the simplicity of French meals and this takes it to the limit.

Radishes will always be integral to my childhood. My Uncle Jack owned an ‘allotment’ in Liverpool, where he grew them in abundance alongside lettuce and sweet peas, and I am sure, numerous other delicious vegetables which at the time I refused to eat!

Uncle Jack’s radishes were small and round and crimson, and burnt your tongue, and my cousin Margaret and I would eat them like sweets. The ones that managed to make it to the table were sliced and served in a mixed salad with cold meats.

When I first came to France my partner and I stayed with a friend of his. At dinner she placed a bowl of radishes in the centre of the table along with a little dish of salt, a baguette and some butter and told us to begin eating. Begin eating what? I asked myself, all I could see was radishes – not salad, not cooked meats, nothing!

Unsure what to do next I waited and watched my partner, take a piece of baguette, butter it, then take a radish, dip it into the salt and begin to eat. This was the oddest thing imaginable to me at that time; but now this is a regular lunchtime starter ‘chez nous’ and a mainstay of every summer picnic.

Imagine my excitement when I saw these beauties at the local market – a far cry from Uncles Jack’s small red ‘aniseed balls’, each one with a unique taste, from spicy white to sweet purple. Delicious and SO simple – why make life complicated………

IMGP1819 (2)

Delightful multi coloured and multi flavoured radishes from the local market

Please note that the stalks are left on. The first time that I served them, I almost caused a riot as I had trimmed them all off and the poor French had nothing to hold on to………

4 thoughts on “RADISH STARTER

    • lindaravello says:

      I’ve just seen bright orange and bright purple caulies – it’s going to have to be done – the orange one I can make caulie cheese, but I may throw the purple one open – to suggestions………

      • happinessandhazelnuts says:

        Sounds like a great market you go to!,maybe a rice salad using the cauliflower as rice or a fritter😋cauliflower cheese sounds so good right now😊

  1. lindaravello says:

    Still too hot for caulieflower cheese here though…..yes the purple one may go well with rice, or in a salad. There are huge bright yellow courgettes (sorry to mention them again – I know that you are all courgetted out!) and red, orange, yellow and green tomatoes – I am waiting for the multi-coloured carrots again (I featured them on an old post, maybe before we were friends on here – ‘Saute de Veau’ I think, they were awesome)

Leave a Reply

