POULET PESTO – LIVE UNDER A BLOOD RED SKY!

IMG_1402 (3)

I don’t know what is happening in the sky, first the blood moon, now the blood dawn. The sky has always been interesting here, but this year, it has really been spectacular and forgive me, if I am boring you, but I just had to post these photos taken this morning…….

IMGP3073 (2)

his is my ‘Mary Poppins’ shot – I am half expecting to see Dick Van Dyke and a hoard of Chimney Sweeps!

IMGP3089 (2)

I hold my hands up and admit defeat – even I cannot find a link to this and my little culinary exploit – if you can think of one, please tell….

This dish is SO simple that even Monsieur le Frog can make it – seriously, this is the only thing that he can cook. This and cold ham and ‘atomic’ potato puree (name given to it by his son!)

Included in this particular dish are the two last tomatoes of the season (yes they hung on in there until the second week of October). So it is another farewell of sorts as we look forward to colder weather and warmer meals.

IMG_1336 (2)

Lasts guests at the party!

Ingredients

1 chicken breast per person

1 dessertspoon (1 cuillier a soupe) of pesto per chicken breast (fresh if possible -see my post for ‘Tomato and mozzarella salad with fresh pesto’ for how to make the pesto)

1 large sliced tomato per chicken breast

Mozzarella or grated Cheddar cheese (I used Marks and Spencer Mozzarella with Cheddar, as it is best of both worlds!)

Method

Simply arrange the chicken breasts in a dish and spread them with pesto

IMG_1395 (3)

Cover with the tomato slices

IMG_1396 (3)

Top with the cheese and a drizzle of olive oil

IMG_1397 (2)

Cover with foil and bake in a pre-heated oven for around 40 minutes at 180 degrees / gas mark 4 until the chicken is tender

Remove the foil and cook for around a further 10 minutes until the cheese is golden

IMG_1399 (3)

Rest the dish for 3 or 4 minutes before serving with a crisp green salad and some crusty baguette to mop up the juices

Bon Apetit!

4 thoughts on “POULET PESTO – LIVE UNDER A BLOOD RED SKY!

  1. Osyth says:

    Oh I think that the dish could be called ‘Under a Blood Red Sky’ given that the chicken is hiding under those luscious tomatoes! Love your Mary Poppins picture – you had me laughing at the thought of all those sweeps popping out of the chimney pots … lovely image xx

  2. lindaravello says:

    Great minds lol.
    Yes it sort of was a duel name for the dish – this is why I chose this particular one to ‘pair-up’ and give me an excuse for conjuring up Dick Van Dyke – thank you for endorsing my decision.
    This was actually yesterday morning and truly breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

