Chicken and Chorizo with canellini beans

IMG_1513 (4)

Now you all know that this blog is called ‘A Taste of Two Cities’ and that I regularly ‘hop’ between the two (being Liverpool and Paris for those of you who have not read ‘about me’)
One would think after doing this on a regular basis that I would have this down to a fine art.
But complacency breeds contempt and when I booked my last flights I obviously had become a little complacent (read ‘slack’)

I had not seen Monsieur le Frog for six weeks, as I had been spending time with my family in Liverpool, but had booked a flight on the morning of Saturdat 13th of February in order to be with ‘mon cheri’ for St Valentine’s day on the 14th, and was due to fly back to Liverpool on the 24th, giving us some good quality time together.

I ordered my taxi and off and went to the airport, very excited and looking forward to being met at the airport at 12.30, like the old days before we lived together.

Imagine my horror when I scanned the bar code of my ticket, instead of a green ‘tick’ allowing me to pass through the barrier, I got a nasty red ‘cross’.
I showed my ticket to the attendant who told me that I had scanned my return ticket – silly me – never mind, I have the other one printed out right here in my bag……..only this was also a return ticket from Paris to Liverpool for that very day.
I had in fact booked two tickets going in the same direction! (How is this even possible?)

As the plane went from Liverpool to Paris and back again, it had already left.
Also as the next day (Sunday) was Valentine’s day and as Paris is ‘The City of Love’, the flight was fully booked, leaving me no option, but to wait until Monday evening (no morning flights mid-week) therefore not only missing Valentine’s day, but the entire weekend and on top of that, the prospect of sitting alone in my flat all day Saturday, Sunday and Monday thinking of what might have been……..

But those of you who know me, know me better than that!
Not one to be defeated, I took a bus to the train station then booked a train to London and the lovely man in the station booking office found the phone number for ‘Eurostar’ and the next available train (which was not until 16.30 that afternoon, due to the mass exodus to Paris for the most romantic weekend of the year!)
I managed to get a seat  at the great expense of £80 for a last minute single to London and a whopping £180 for a last minute single from London to Paris!
But I was a woman on a mission and a desperate phone call to my beloved confirmed that he wanted me to be there (‘it’s only paper’ he said when I told him the cost – him the man that walks around switching lights off!)

WP_20160202_10_33_18_Pro

One of Liverpool’s famous cow sculptures that can be found all over Liverpool at Southparkway station where I received so much hel

 

After a journey that was not entirely smooth sailing (other events out of my control resulted in my train to London being cancelled and me having to go north to Manchester in order to get a train from there – me and every other traveller from the north west of England!)
I finally arrived at Gare du Nord, to be whisked away to our favourite local restaurant and spend a lovely Valentine’s day……….All’s well that ends well. Love will and a way, and all that jazz…….

It was lovely to be back home and even lovelier to be able to be able to indulge in my favourite pass time of photographing the wonderful sunsets from my lounge window (Many of which have featured on here)

IMG_1492 (2)

 

This latest one reminded me of the colours in a little dinner dish that I knocked together when my step daughter and her boyfriend announced that they were coming before I had time to do a proper shop (the cupboards were well stocked with packet soups and pasta. Monsieur le Frog is no Ratatouille!)

So in this fact lies my dubious link between story and recipe…..

Ingredients
Serves 4

2 large skinless chicken breasts

8 – 10 slices of chorizo

1 tin of cannellini beans (drained and rinsed to remove any excess sugar and salt)

1 can of chopped tomatoes

6 – 8 small/medium waxy potatoes

1 tablespoon of tomato puree (I used ‘sundried’ for a sharper taste)

1 teaspoon of smoky paprika

1 teaspoon of

1 teaspoon of dried marjoram

1 bay leaf

Freshly ground sea salt and black pepper to taste

Method

Scrub the potatoes and cut into 2 or 4 depending on size and steam for 10 minutes until just beginning to soften and leave to cool slightly

Cut chicken into bite size pieces and place in the bottom of a casserole dish

Roughly chop the chorizo and add to the chicken

Add the cooled potatoes, cannellini beans and chopped tomatoes

Stir in the tomato puree, marjoram, paprika, salt and pepper

add the bay leaf, cover and cook in a moderate oven for one and a half hours until the chicken is soft and the sauce thickens

As spring seems to be evading us in the UK,this is a hearty dish for chilly evenings, and leftovers are great for next days lunch.

I serve this with some warm crusty baguette and as usual a crisp green side salad

Bon Apetit and A Bientot!

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Chicken and Chorizo with canellini beans

  1. Osyth says:

    You are SUCH a kindred …. I booked my youngest daughter ‘s flights in reverse when she came over last Easter. My husband is very long-suffering. He shares with M. le Frog this disfunctional but utterly romantic attitude to money – he regularly says ‘it’s only money’ when treating me to something I think we shouldn’t afford whilst being the man who sits in a gloomy room because he doesn’t want to waste electricity 😉

  2. lindaravello says:

    Ha ha exactement! I get told off for leaving the tv in stand by position then get a Swaraoski bracelet bought for me at the flutter of an eyelid
    Show him the cow – I might do a future post on these alone.
    But before that there is another Lindy disaster story about what happened on Wednesday….watch this space x

  3. lindaravello says:

    When you buy a flight with Easy jet, you print your ticket at home from the internet, then you scan the bar code at the airport to pass through to the passport/customs control, this opens the automatic barrier. But as my ticket was for the wrong direction the barrier would not open – as in fact I was not booked on to this flight. I hadn’t noticed, as I have been passing backwards and forwards from Liverpool to Paris / Paris to Liverpool for 10 years. Normally the Easy jet web site alerts you to the fact that you are booking two flights on the same routes in the same direction with the same name, but it obviously didn’t. xx

Leave a Reply

