Traditional Christmas Cake

By popular demand!

A Taste of two Cities

1912170_10205395752633324_5633348815044253765_n[1]

As it is time to start thinking about what you have in your store cupboards in preparation for making a Christmas cake, here by popular demand, here is my traditional British Christmas cake recipe reposted from last year for those of you who missed it and the many of you who have contacted me asking me to post it again…..
There are no hard and fast rules when making a ‘traditional’ British Christmas cake, some use treacle, others syrup, some dark soft brown sugar and others light, some add ground almonds or walnuts and some use glacé cherries and candied peel.
I prefer a lighter fruitier, less sweet cake, so I do not include syrup or treacle, or glacé cherries or candy peel, and as my daughter is allergic to almonds I leave them out also, and only put marzipan on the top of the cake, so it is easier for…

View original post 944 more words

2 thoughts on “Traditional Christmas Cake

  1. Osyth says:

    I loved this then, I love it now! I am counting the days to Christmas this year because for the first time since 2012 I have all my girlies and my mum and my husband under one (rented cottage) roof in England. I have to make the cake when I get back to England next month, leave it with my mum and then do a quick fire deco job when we arrive from France four days before the day. You have so many lovely ideas for a beautiful cake and the recipe is a stunner. Thank you dear Liver Bird xx

  2. lindaravello says:

    I am going to buy ingredients, but ask Mr Le F to bring the brown paper to line the tin as we have loads at home. I make the cake and the girls decorate it – it is a tradition that maybe you can follow, I leave it up to them and they surprise me xxx

Leave a Reply

