Chicken and Mushroom pie and Woolton Picture House

wp_20170117_007

Continuing in the vein of ‘leftovers’ this is a little chicken and mushroom pie that was born out of some puff pastry left over from some mince pies, which in turn were knocked together with some leftover mincemeat, padded out with various other bits and pieces (to feature in a future post). Added to that some mushrooms left over from a boeuf Bourgignon and some chicken from a raclette along with a handful of frozen peas and half a can of condensed soup (don’t worry, the other half went into a chicken and tarragon bake !) and I have worked out that I have made 11 meals for a total of £12 over the last week. So, healthy, and economical and fun……….my good friend Jacqui commented that I should be teaching ‘home economics’ classes in schools, but sadly they don’t exist anymore – maybe we should start a campaign on here to bring them back…………seems we’re all living in La la land……

No apologies for the tenuous link (I have been known to do worse….) but to work my little cultural sojourn into the post I have chosen a recent trip to the cinema. No I am not going to review ‘La la land’ but tell you a little about the wonderful, historic ‘Woolton Picture House’ in Liverpool.

woolton-cinema

‘Woolton Picture House’ is the oldest, and only remaining ‘single screen’ cinema in the city of Liverpool. Dating back to 1927 it still retains its 1920’s charm with plush armchairs, more than ample leg room, and dramatic red drapes that sweep aside to reveal the majestic wide screen.

wp_20160708_19_08_48_pro-1

Being privately owned it charges much less than the cinema complexes in the city (£6.50 for an adult ticket as opposed to £11.50 in town) and the old cinema tradition of ‘The Interval’ is still upheld, with ‘usherettes selling ice-cream from little trays, and the small bar in the foyer selling mini bottles of wine and beer and even cups of tea!

wp_20160708_19_08_10_pro

It’s just feels so much more of an ‘experience’ with the unique atmosphere of a bygone, more glamorous era enhanced by the soothing ‘strings’ of Mantovani playing before the film and during the interval – sheer nostalgia…………..

So let’s ‘Make a feature’ out of the recipe……

Ingredients

Strips of chicken left over from a raclette

Baby sweetcorn also left over from a raclette

Mushrooms left over from my Beef and Bacon hotpot / Boeuf Bourgignon (see previous post for hotpot and A Taste of Two Cities archives for Boeuf Bourgignon)

A handful of frozen peas

1/2 a tin of condensed chicken soup left over from my Chicken Tarragon bake (see my recipe on A Taste of Two Cities)

Ready made puff pastry left over from my final batch of mince pies (recipe not published)

Method

Sauté the chicken, corn and mushroom in a little oil until just about to brown

Add the frozen peas and continue to gently cook until defrosted

Add the 1/2 tin of condensed soup plus 1/2 a tin of water

Season to taste with salt and white pepper

wp_20170117_004wp_20170117_005

Pour into an oven proof dish

Roll our the puff pastry to fit the top and bake at 200 degrees / gas mark 6 for 30 -40 minutes until pasty is cooked and golden

I served this with some steamed new potatoes

Bon appetit!

wp_20160708_19_06_37_pro

 

5 thoughts on “Chicken and Mushroom pie and Woolton Picture House

  1. Osyth says:

    The pie looks beyond enticing to a pie-aholic such as me …. the cinema equally so. I will certainly check it out when I am in the vicinity next. Funnily enough, we have just moved into our permanent temporary 6-month abode in Grenoble and are right next to le Nef which is not quite in the league of Woolton PH in that it is a multi screen but it is independent and simple and I saw the most wonderful film there on Sunday night called ‘Un Sac de Billes’ which I highly recommend you check out … everything that is so brilliant about French cinema in my humblest of opinions xx

  2. lindaravello says:

    I love French cinema, best in world in my humble ‘avis’ also (85% of the licence fee goes into cinema and 15% into tv, this is why the tv is rubbish, it is or was about 65% of UK licence into tv and 45% into cinema, so this is why UK tv is so good)
    The date for my ‘rentre’ is the end of July, so hopefully we can hook up xx

    • lindaravello says:

      I just checked out your blog and I think I need to follow your example (although toned down as I am much older than you…..) I do eat healthily, but it has all gone a bit haywire lately and I need a realistic exercise regime.
      Your blog looks very professional, I love your photos. Lindy

Leave a Reply

